Author Topic: Tinley's in Derbyshire  (Read 8338 times)

Offline Tinley

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Tinley's in Derbyshire
« on: Monday 10 November 08 02:26 GMT (UK) »
Hello I'm completely new to rootschat, so bear with me.

I am trying to find information on Walter Tinley, who was born 1768. Walter lived and married in Heanor but I have been unable to find any record of parents. Walter apparently married twice. His first marriage was to Martha Brentnall 16 Dec 1793 in the parish church Heanor. Martha was born around 1772. From this marriage there were two sons, Thomas and George. Walters second marriage was to Katherine Keen on 23 June 1806. From this marriage there were four children, Mary, William, John and Charles.
Can anyone help me to fill in information for this my 5th G Grandfather.
I am based in Jersey so it is difficult to spend sufficient time at the Records Office.

Thanks in anticipation

Paul

Offline willow154

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Mum - Such love
    • View Profile
Re: Tinley's in Derbyshire
« Reply #1 on: Monday 10 November 08 15:10 GMT (UK) »
Hi Paul,
First of all let me welcome you to rootschat - I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!
My father came from Ilkeston, which is near Heanor, so I keep an eye on the Derbyshire board, just in case I can be of help to anyone.
I can understand your difficulty in finding information with regard to baptisms for the Tinley family - there is so little information currently online for Heanor, St. Lawrence; or any of the nearby churches (including Ilkeston, St. Marys!)
I would offer to go the Derbyshire Record Office for you, but I no longer live near there, but a few ideas sprang to mind which might help a little.