Author Topic: Searching for Richard Rowlands born Cardiganshire  (Read 2618 times)

Offline Esme2

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Searching for Richard Rowlands born Cardiganshire
« on: Saturday 28 September 13 22:24 BST (UK) »
My 2nd great grandfather Richard Rowlands was born somewhere in Cardiganshire between 1785-1801 and was a blacksmith by trade.  This is information I have found on the 1851 census when he was living in Birmingham, it seems he had died before the 1861 census.  I have found a possible marriage on the IGI to Elizabeth Williams.  Their children were all born in Birmingham and I have traced all of these but, it is the earlier information I would like to find about Richard Rowlands.  I have nothing further to go on, not knowing specifically where in Cardiganshire he was born or the names of his parents or if he had siblings.

Thank you from a very new member.

Offline suzard

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Searching for Richard Rowlands born Cardiganshire
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 28 September 13 23:17 BST (UK) »
If I am looking at the correct census - Richard Rowland (no "s") is age 50 on 1841 census ( age rounded down to nearest 5 years

1861 he is "Robert" Rowland age 50

??????

Suz
Thornhill, Cresswell, Sisson, Harriman, Cripps, Eyre, Walter, Marson, Battison, Holmes, Bailey, Hardman, Fairhurst Noon-mainly in Derbys/Notts-but also Northampton, Oxford, Leics, Lancs-England
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Esme2

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Searching for Richard Rowlands born Cardiganshire
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 29 September 13 08:54 BST (UK) »
Good morning Suz,