Author Topic: CAVAN - Adams and McCullough  (Read 9906 times)

Offline Morris2013

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
CAVAN - Adams and McCullough
« on: Tuesday 09 April 13 07:01 BST (UK) »
Hi

I have no experience of trying to search records in Ireland and wondered if someone could help me.

On my tree, I have a couple who emigrated to New Zealand but who were from County Cavan.

A Matilda McCullough and a William Adams, and I have found some details for them on another tree in Ancestry

Would there be any record surviving of a possible marriage for them in Bailieboro 16th Dec 1851

The Matilda McCullough may have been born/baptised in Bailieboro 17th Nov 1834

The William Adams may have been born/baptised in Durnaskea, Cootehill, Cavan about 1815

I am waiting to see if the owner of the other tree on Ancestry will contact me, but would be grateful for any advice you may have in trying to search for them.

Kind Regards

Morris

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: CAVAN - Adams and McCullough
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 09 April 13 13:23 BST (UK) »
Possible marriage on the Irish BMD Index on FamilySearch :

Name : William Adams
  Record Type: Marriage
  Year : 1851
  Registration District: Bailieborough
  Volume : 1 / Page: 538

A 'Matilda Mccullough' appears with the same references (district, year, volume & page), so a possible bride.

Since this is a civil marriage record before 1864, it suggest that the couple were non-Catholic. For notes on ordering a cert with further details of the marriage - see :

Ordering Certs from GRO Roscommon
  Details included on a Marriage Cert

and : Introduction to Irish Records

p.s. There's also an extracted version of the marriage on FamilySearch which gives a date, and confirms the couples names, and some of the other details - https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/FGCQ-G31