Author Topic: Newbie looking for help on Christies of Arboath  (Read 15234 times)

Offline nzmike

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Newbie looking for help on Christies of Arboath
« on: Monday 21 January 08 12:32 GMT (UK) »
Hi all,

This is my first post and I'm pretty new to the whole genealogy thing so please be  gentle with me!  ;-)

I am trying to track family and forebears of my great-grandfather James Christie who was born in Arbroath on 20-Feb-1858 and died on 23-July-1911, also in Arbroath.  He married one Barbara Finlayson on 08-Nov-1978 and divorced her in 1909 for some reason I have not yet been able to find out. (Links to images of his birth and death cert are at the bottom of this post.)

Basically I would like to know if he had any siblings or other children apart from 2 sons - yet another James Christie and my grandfather George Johnstone Christie (b. 05-Dec-1884 at 38 Mary St, Arbroath, d. 05-Mar-1947 in Dunedin, NZ).  In particular I am trying to find his father, also a James Christie, who had my great-grandfather out of wedlock with one Matilda Mahon(e).  They were both flax mill workers (not surprisingly all my Christie relatives seemed to work 'down the mill') and I know in 1858 he was living in Gravesend, Arbroath when my great-grandfather was born.

My problem is that I can't nail down any firm details as there were so many James Christie's in Angus in those days so if anyone can help I would really appreciate it.  I have tried ScotlandsPeople and FindMyPast but there are just so many James Christie's and none of really them fit any dates I have.  I have googled and looked up every record library, registrar and website I can find with no real luck so I am hoping someone in Scotland or the UK may be help me (I am a Kiwi but live in Sydney at present).