Author Topic: The Fairbrother Family  (Read 6128 times)

Offline poppy-pepe

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
The Fairbrother Family
« on: Thursday 24 March 11 18:56 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone

This is my first time at this and i'm wondering if anyone out there is researching the Fairbrother family from the Shardlow and New Lenton areas

Online CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
Re: The Fairbrother Family
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 24 March 11 19:22 GMT (UK) »
Hi and welcome to Rootschat

Shardlow was Derbyshire until 1974 and the 1911 index shows 3 pages of entries in Shardlow for that surname.

You need to give more specific info as to which particular Fairbrother family/families you are researching - names/birthyears etc

Please do not post details of any person who could still be living

Lenton was Nottinghamshire so if you have a different Fairbrother family in the Derbyshire area - you will need to post a request on the Derbyshire board with their details

If it is all the same family - please do not post a further request as it can lead to duplication of efforts
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Carlin (Ireland & Liverpool) Doughty & Wright (Liverpool) Dick & Park (Scotland & Liverpool)

Offline poppy-pepe

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 25 March 11 23:14 GMT (UK) »
Hi CaroleW

My apologies

I believe the Fairbrothers i would lie to know more about were quite often Boatmen, possibly living in boat villages at various places and therefore lsited in Derby, Leicester, and Nottingham during varuious phases of their lives - there are also many gaps

I belive my gg grandfather was Abraham Fairbrother born c. 1849 in Castle Donnington who married a Sarah Stevenson who was born c. 1849 in Sawley Derbyshire.