Author Topic: Owen Jones and Catherine Williams  (Read 12596 times)

Offline jstjones

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Owen Jones and Catherine Williams
« on: Wednesday 08 October 14 01:19 BST (UK) »
Newbie here, this is my first post so if I'm going about things the wrong way please set me straight. I feel like I'm searching for a certain pair of needles in a pile of needles the size of a haystack! lol.

My name is John William Jones and all I know about my father's father's family and ancestry is this:

My father's name is William H Jones, Jr. and he had a brother Owen H and a sister Glenna H.

My grandfather was William H Jones Sr. and he had brothers named John O, Hugh Owen, and Robert, and a sister Elizabeth.

My great grandparents came to the U.S. from Wales between 1883-1887, settled in Parsons, Luzerne County, Pennsylvania and were married about 1889. His occupation was Stone Mason.

- Owen JONES, born January 1862 in Wales, both parents born Wales.
- Catherine WILLIAMS, born December 1868 in Wales, both parents born Wales.

That's all I know! The usual search methods are pointless and I have no idea where to start or where to turn. Is my quest to find my Welsh roots hopeless?

Thank you in advance for any advice you might be able to offer.
John W. Jones

Offline keyboard86

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Owen Jones and Catherine Williams
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 08 October 14 01:59 BST (UK) »
Hi and welcome to Rootschat!

If I have located the correct marriage on Family Search, Owen married as Owen H Jones to Catherine Williams 26th June 1889 Luzerne, Pennsylvania, I see they were living with family there in the 1900 census, their is this potential family in the 1881 UK census:-

Hugh Jones 58 occ Slate Quarry Agent
Mary 48
Robert H 21 occ Slate Quarrier
OWEN H 19 occ Slate Quarrier
Hugh H 16 occ Slate Quarrier
William H 14
Elizabeth H 12
Ann H 9
Ellen H 5