Author Topic: Fostering Tayport (Ferry upon Craig )1915  (Read 12861 times)

Offline shelly 65

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Fostering Tayport (Ferry upon Craig )1915
« on: Wednesday 02 April 14 15:50 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone,
                  i am VERY new to this,i have been looking on just about every fee paying webb-site for information.(got nowhere)..
My aunt was seeminly born in Tayport 25/10/1915 illegitimate we have "no surname"but know whom she was fostered out to,i am looking for information on the fostering out bit whether it was from an instistution or the church,do not know where to look.
Gratefull for ANY input.

Offline MonicaL

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Girl with firewood, Morar 1910 - MEM Donaldson
    • View Profile
Re: Fostering Tayport (Ferry upon Craig )1915
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 02 April 14 20:58 BST (UK) »
Hi shelley 65

Don't think you are likely to find any record of this really. Especially online  :-\

Adoption, never mind fostering, was only made legal in Scotland from 1930. See www.nas.gov.uk/guides/adoptions.asp

Monica  :)
Census information Crown Copyright, www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline bleckie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 03 April 14 08:01 BST (UK) »

Offline shelly 65

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 03 April 14 13:27 BST (UK) »
Hi Monica
              sorry i could not figure out how to reply to you ???,hope this is the way.
Thank you for your reply, i rekon too that i will never solve the mistery especially when she had no birth cert.,
What i cannot understand is how she managed to get her state pension and a passport without the birth cert.,
Anyway thank you very much for your reply. 8)

Offline shelly 65

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Thursday 03 April 14 13:30 BST (UK) »
Hi Brucel,