Author Topic: Moffat Family of Armagh?  (Read 3175 times)

Offline aucklandkirsty

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Moffat Family of Armagh?
« on: Saturday 21 December 13 05:41 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to this and am wondering if anyone can offer any advice on where to go to next to search for information on the Moffat family?

I have recently found in the 1851 census for Kilmarnock, Scotland, the family of William Moffat and his wife. William is aged 36 (born 1815) and is listed as being from County Armagh. His wife Elizabeth is 37 (born 1814) and also from Armagh. Three of their daughters – Mary aged 16, Esther aged 11 and Sarah aged 8 were born in County Armagh. Their fourth daughter Elizabeth was born in Kilmarnock in 1849.

I have the information from Esther’s 1864 marriage certificate which lists her parents as William Moffat (Engine Driver) deceased and Elizabeth Moffat maiden surname Stewart, deceased.

I think (though cannot be sure) I have found the death record for William Moffat in Kilmarnock in September 1857. It lists him as aged 40 and the son of Thomas Moffat deceased and Mary Moffat, maiden name McKinlay. I am unable to find a death record for William Moffat’s wife Elizabeth. I assume she died between 1851 and the start of registration in Scotland in 1855.

I have been unable so far to find a marriage for William Moffat and Elizabeth Stewart (approx. 1834 in Armagh) or anything on Thomas Moffat and Mary McKinlay from Armagh. It is difficult because I do not know which part of Armagh they were from. Could anyone give me any advice as to where I may be able to find any information on this family in Armagh please, as I am completely new to searching in this area!

Thank you!
Kirsty in New Zealand

Offline plumpyone

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Moffat Family of Armagh?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 31 December 13 12:31 GMT (UK) »
Hi