Author Topic: George McGuirk WW1 maybe seaman  (Read 2754 times)

Offline ourgang

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
George McGuirk WW1 maybe seaman
« on: Wednesday 20 August 14 17:54 BST (UK) »
My great uncle George McGuirk was born in Blackrock, Co Dublin 9 February 1884. His various brothers joined the British Army but, rumour! has it George was a seaman. Armed with that watery fact I went to the Archives records and got details from a medal card for a George McGuirk born Dublin 1884 they had a number 862386 on the card and looks like R83 No310688. How would i find out if that was MY George ???? Hope this is not too dopey a question but, I am a real novice with the Armed forces part of my research....got great help here with questions about Michael and Edward McGuirk. Maybe there is a better first step to take to trace George???
McGuirk, Jordan of Wicklow
Carr of Liverpool
Connor of Blackrock

Offline seaweed

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • I'll see you one day in Fiddlers Green.
    • View Profile
Re: George McGuirk WW1 maybe seaman
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 20 August 14 18:10 BST (UK) »
There is a Mercantile Marine  record including a photograph, for this man 1918-1921 on FindMyPast.
Nok is given as Ann McGuirk of Westport Co. Mayo. Thee are also several official numbers of the ships he sailed on. If you need help with interpretation just ask. There seems to be no online Merchant navy records for him after 1921.
See also
http://www.irishmariners.ie/searchdatabase.php?srch_surname=McGuirk+&srch_forename=George&srch_identityno=&srch_yob=1884&submit=Search
Dim ateb yn well nag ateb anghywir. Nid oes dim yn ddall fel rhai nad ydynt yn dymuno gweld

RIP Roger 10 August 2022

Offline ourgang

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 20 August 14 21:13 BST (UK) »
Thank you so much Seaweed,