Author Topic: Deanfield??  (Read 3192 times)

Offline KG88

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Deanfield??
« on: Thursday 31 July 14 17:30 BST (UK) »
Ok, so I'm new to this and am unsure if this is possible, but here goes.

So, I am searching for the history on a place rather than a family. It is Deanfield on the Limavady road in derry. More so on the main Deanfield house, now a nursing home. I know that the Anderson family lived there, Robert and Lydia Anderson and their 5 (including 1 death) children, and all I know about them is that Robert was mayor of derry for a while and so was one of his sons, Lt-Commander Albert Wesley Anderson, who was married at Deanfield house. But, I am wondering if anyone knows who was there before the Andersons, after them, maybe along with them? (it is a large house), when they left and if anyone has any old photos of the house? Any help would be much appreciated  :)

Thanks
Kylie

Offline kingskerswell

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Deanfield??
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 31 July 14 17:57 BST (UK) »
Kylie,
       I cannot help with Deanfield house but Robert and his wife lived in Dacre Terrace in the 1911 census with three of their children, including Albert Wesley. This house is nowadays on a roundabout at the western side of the Foyle bridge and can be viewed on Google maps using Streetview.

Regards
Stewart, Irwin, Morrison, Haslett, Murrell - Dungiven area Co. Londonderry
Browne, Barrett -Co.Armagh
Neil, Smyth _Co. Antrim

Offline KG88

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 31 July 14 19:50 BST (UK) »
Hi