Author Topic: Greer family of Leaffoney, County Sligo  (Read 24146 times)

Offline Annie54

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Greer family of Leaffoney, County Sligo
« on: Monday 27 November 06 17:57 GMT (UK) »
Hello, I'm new at this so be kind.
My great great grandfather was Michael/Mitchell Greer of Leaffoney, County Sligo.  His daughter Fanny (1850's) married Mark Martin in Kilglass in 1872 and they lived at the Pullaheney coastguard station.  One of their many children was my grandmother, Matilda (Tillie) Martin who was born in 1885.  I know that Michael was alive in 1876 as he was present at the birth of Mark and Fanny's son George Thomas. 
He may have been buried at the Kilglass Church as they were Church of Ireland.

Thanks
Annie54

Offline alison64

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: Greer family of Leaffoney, County Sligo
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 04 July 07 23:09 BST (UK) »
Hi Annie,
Do you know who Micheal's parents were?
Ive been researching the Greer's from that area who were coastguards.
Regards
Alison
My email address is not longer working sorry

Offline Annie54

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 06 July 07 02:12 BST (UK) »
Hi Alison,
I don't know who Michael's parents were.  It may have been John Greer, who was listed with Michael and William Greer in the Tithe Applotment records.  I have't found a birth record for him yet.  Michael was a farmer in Leaffoney.