Author Topic: Boyd family  (Read 7024 times)

Offline J70BYD

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Boyd family
« on: Thursday 30 July 09 20:56 BST (UK) »
I am new to family research and have very Little to go on  - so here goes.

My grandfather was Joseph Boyd born on 14 January 1891 at Hazelwood, Calry, Sligo. His father was Willaim and his mother Ellen (nee Mally or Malley). I have a copy of his birth certificate.

I know that Hazelwood was owned by the Wynne family and that there was a Patrick Boyd noted in Griffiths valuation in 1858 at Barroe and this was owned by Wynne also. No idea if connected.

I have nothing before this or after 1891 and can't find them on the 1901 census.

The next and only other document I have is a marriage certificate for Edward Boyd in London in 1916 when he was a soldier. Family lore is that Joseph changed his name to Edward for some reason. He married Ethel Miles on 2 September 1916.

If anyone has any infomation tying into these people it would be a breakthrough for me.

Offline J70BYD

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Boyds in Sligo
« Reply #1 on: Friday 29 January 10 20:51 GMT (UK) »
I have traced my grandfather to his birth at Hazelwood Calry near Sligo in 1891. His name was Joseph Boyd and his father William worked there. It would be great to hear from anyone with any family history that links to this.
I am travelling to Sligo in March and intend researching more if I can find where the parish records or Hazelwood records are held.

Offline silverfoxvb

• RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
Re: Boyd family
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 26 June 13 01:35 BST (UK) »