Author Topic: Researching family history in PENANG, BRITISH MALAYA, for a novel  (Read 1203 times)

Offline penangstory

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Researching family history in PENANG, BRITISH MALAYA, for a novel
« on: Tuesday 25 March 14 05:43 GMT (UK) »
I posted the following message four years ago now and had some very helpful responses (please see past thread for the replies). My last trip was fascinating, but despite much detective-like sleuthing, I didn't really discover any further concrete facts.  As the book I will be writing will be fiction, these are not crucial, but of course on a personal level there are mysteries I would still love to solve.  As I am currently back in Penang to conduct more research, I thought it might be worthwhile posting again just in case anyone else unearths anything that could be helpful.  Many thanks for reading!

I am a fiction writer and have been commissioned by a leading UK publisher to write a novel loosely based on the story of my grandmother and great-grandmother.  I am wondering if you might be able to offer any help with my research.