Author Topic: Help me find my Family the Duncan's and Cockburns from lochwinnoch  (Read 2146 times)

Offline lucyduncan

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help me find my Family the Duncan's and Cockburns from lochwinnoch
« on: Friday 15 August 14 10:25 BST (UK) »
Hi I am new to this but I am trying to find my family. My name is Lucy Duncan.
My Grandfather was James Duncan born 8/8/1930 and he was married to Isabella Stillie Duncan I think her D.O.B is 30/1/1931, They were married on the 3/8/1951 at St Johns Parish Church of Scotland they lived in Lochwinnoch.
His Brothers are John and George.
My Grandmothers mother was Janet Cockburn who was a dairymaid and her husband was Hugh Cockburn and he was a blacksmith.
My Grandfather James and my Grandmother Isabella came to New Zealand in 1958 with my father James Duncan and my Uncle Hugh Duncan. They travelled on a ocean liner Named the Captain Cook and it was the ships last journey. Where they settled in the Manawatu region and had 4 more sons named William, Bruce, Craig and Fraser.
Hope this helps!!!

Online CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
Re: Help me find my Family the Duncan's and Cockburns from lochwinnoch
« Reply #1 on: Friday 15 August 14 12:38 BST (UK) »
Hi and welcome to Rootschat

The type of info you are looking for will only be available on Scotlands People which is a pay to view website via purchase of credits   www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

By obtaining a copy of James & Isabella's marriage cert you will get your great grandparents names plus the names of your great great grandparents  plus the maiden names of all females

This will enable you to look up their marriages to get the same info re: their parents.  Basically - you just work backwards from the info you already know