Author Topic: Avoca O'Briens  (Read 11670 times)

Offline Avoca OBriens

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Avoca O'Briens
« on: Sunday 29 November 09 06:10 GMT (UK) »
I am just starting out with tracking back family. I am looking for the names of the 14 children of John O'Brien (born 1857) who married Elizabeth O'Reilly. My grandmother, their daughter, was Mary Jane (born March 12,1895). Siblings Lillie,Sheila and maybe James are buried in Avoca. According to my mother the other siblings are Sheila, Patrick, Julia, Martha, John. They lived on a farm near Connary, near the Motto Stone (Maybe).

The 1911 census shows them living in Tigroney and lists the father John and 9 siblings (10 out of 14 still living)

My mother is Maura Mulreany, daughter of Mary Jane O'Brien and James Joseph Mulreany(Co Mayo). She and her sister Eva used to spend holidays on the farm.

The James O'Brien headstone at the Avoca Cemetery (1885). According to my mother, James married a Bridie Horgie. The tombstone lists a Hannah O'Brien as his wife and the 1911 census lists James as born in 1890. So i am not sure i have the right James.

I would appreciate any sources of information to find family/neighbor connections or additional information on the family, going back or forward. I hope to make a visit next summer as well.

Bob

Offline penderiki

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Avoca O'Briens
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 03 December 09 15:11 GMT (UK) »
Hi,
I have some details from a headstone in the Kilmagig Graveyard in Avoca which may help a little to build your family history.
The Headstone reads:
In loving memory of my dear wife Elizabeth O'Brien died 1st Nov. 1907 aged 41 years......my son John O'Brien died 25th June 1926 aged 19 years.....also my daughter Katherine (sis) Kearns died 12 Feb, 1922 aged 35 years.....John O'Brien died 24th Dec. 1938

If I find anything else, I will post again.

Best wishes,

Tom