Author Topic: gorham name  (Read 22560 times)

Offline copper john

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
gorham name
« on: Tuesday 28 June 11 09:49 BST (UK) »
Hi, Im new to this please be patient:I am researching my ancestors and have got back to a James Gorham c 2/8/1789 Aldington Ashford Kent. I am trying to go back further but cannot confirm. Father is quoted as a James Gorham m Mary Andrews at Hinxhill Ashford 26/3/1786.
The above are my ancestors and I know of two other Gorham branches from Kent and cannot find the link, as Kent/East Sussex are fairly small in area fuzzy logic would indicate a common ancestor.
I migrated to Western Australia (WA) in 1953 and am the eldest member of this Gorham branch now 74yrs, I would appreciate anyone being able to assist me in my quest.
Thanks and regards copper john Perth WA

Online bearkat

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: gorham name
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 28 June 11 11:52 BST (UK) »
Hi John and welcome to Rootschat  :D

There is a memorial listed for James GORHAM of Aldington who died aged 24 in Hinxhill Churchyard

http://www.kentarchaeology.org.uk/Research/Libr/MIs/MIsHinxhill/01.htm

There is also one for Mary, his widow, who remarried to James CHITTENDEN
Middx - VAUS, ROBERTS, EVERSFIELD, INMAN, STAR, HOLBECK, WYATT, BICKFORD, SMITH, REDWOOD
Hants - SMALL, HAMMERTON, GRIST, FRYER, TRODD, DAGWELL, PARKER, WOODFORD, CROUTEAR, BECK, BENDELL, KEEPING, HARDING, BULL
Kent - BAYLY, BORER, MITCHELL, PLANE, VERNON, FARRANCE, CHAPMAN, MEDHURST, LOMAX, WYATT, IDEN
Devon - TOPE, BICKFORD, FOSTER
YKS - QUIRK, McGUIRE, BENN
Nott/Derbs - SLACK
Herts - BARNES
L'pool- PLUMBE
 All UK census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Online bearkat

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 28 June 11 11:57 BST (UK) »
James GORHAM left a will.  :D