Author Topic: Chisholm descendants  (Read 13662 times)

Offline matchis

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Chisholm descendants
« on: Wednesday 01 March 06 21:31 GMT (UK) »
Although I am new to Rootschat, I have been researching my family history for the past three years. I have lots of information (  a thousand blood descendants) on a family of Chisholms originating in the parishes of Urray and Fodderty in Ross and Cormarty, from 1711 onwards. There are, however, a few families that I have been unable to trace.

Catherine MacKenzie, born in Fodderty around 1854  is the daughter of Isobella Chisholm and Duncan MacKenzie. I cannot trace her. Her niece, Katherine Jane Stewart MacKenzie, born in Latheron, Caithness in 1882 to parents John Chisholm MacKenzie and Jeannie Tuach, married John A Owen and they settled in London. Nothing else known.  Katherine's sister, Caroline Stewart MacKenzie, married Caleb Samuel Hill in Blackburn in 1911. I could not find any record of children.

Frances Sutherland, born in Urray in 1837 to parents Janet Chisholm and Donald Sutherland, married Alexander Gorran in Edinburgh in 1865. They seem to have vanished.

Donaldina C MacDonald, born in Fodderty in 1894 to parents Jessie Chisholm and Alexander MacDonald, seems to have vanished, too.

Jessie Sutherland Chisholm, born in Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, in 1893 to parents Lewis Russell Chisholm and Janet Wood , has remained a mystery.

Margaret Chisholm , born 1880 to parents Donald Chisholm and Jessie Sutherland, who married John Anderson in Rosemarkie on the Black Isle in 1901 has proved elusive. Her brother, John Fowler Chisholm, born in 1870 has gone off radar.