Author Topic: Children's Homes in Oxford in 1950s  (Read 12135 times)

Offline misscurious

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Children's Homes in Oxford in 1950s
« on: Sunday 14 October 12 19:44 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone,

I am new to this and really would like some help please.  I am currently studying for a degree in Early Childhood Studies and one of my modules requires me to interview somebody who had a totally different childhood from myself.

To cut a long story short, I interviewed my dad about his childhood.  I always knew that he had a tough childhood as he was brought up in the 1950s and spent most of his childhood in children's homes, in particular Cotuit House in Headington, Oxford and Hernes House in Summertown Oxford.

Now the odd thing is that I can find nothing at all about Hernes House as a children's home.  I have spent most of this weekend googling different combinations and going through various archives.  Yesterday, I spent a few hours at the Oxfordshire Local History Department at St Lukes Church, Cowley and was still unable to find anything, neither was the very kind lady who helped me.  Initially, I only wanted general information like when did it open and close as a children's home, how many children etc etc, but this has really intrigued me now especially as there seems to be absolutely no information out there.

Also, I was trying to find information about Donnington Baths as my dad recalls Social Services taking him there twice a year to give him a good scrub, but I can't find any information for this either??

How do you think the best way for me to proceed would be now?

Many thanks in advance if anybody can help me.

Best wishes xx

Offline jamajo

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • My lovely gran
    • View Profile
Re: Children's Homes in Oxford in 1950s
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 14 October 12 21:20 BST (UK) »

Hi and welcome to Rootschat :)