Author Topic: Finding the church name in baptism records Cork  (Read 5756 times)

Offline familysleuth

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Finding the church name in baptism records Cork
« on: Saturday 04 January 14 11:40 GMT (UK) »
I am a newbie when it comes to Irish records. I just had great success with my Ulster relatives, and now starting on the Cork ones. I was thrilled to find relevant baptisms on http://www.irishgenealogy.ie/  - even better to have the actual documents! but I don't know how to get the name of the Church..... can someone tell me what " Recorded Parochial Area RINGRONE, BALLINDINE AND TEMPLEFINES (COURCY'S COUNTRY OR BALLINSPITTAL)" indicates? My 2 X great grandmother was Elizabeth Ross, parents Nathaniel Ross and Margaret Buckley. I think I have found the death of Nathaniel Ross in 1881 but I can't find a death for his wife Margaret as yet. I have discovered siblings of Elizabeth:  Nathaniel bap 1840 and Mary Anne bap 1828 (died 1878). These people were supposed to be wealthy, with Nathaniel Snr employed by a shipping company, but I can find no trace of him except in Dean St, in Griffith's Valuation (verified by previous family history). I'd appreciate some guidance! Cheers, Louise in Perth, Australia
Joyce & Black in Armagh/Down; Clarkson in Hull, East Riding; Paxton in Hull, Yorkshire; Lodge in Huddersfield and Liverpool; Shaw in Caistor, Lincolnshire; Noncon and Pope in London.

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Finding the church name in baptism records Cork
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 04 January 14 11:53 GMT (UK) »
Wouldn't have thought someone employed by a shipping company would have been classed as wealthy.
For reference here are the children of Nathaniel Ross & Margaret Buckley-
Mary (1827) http://churchrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/details/9c17740024195