Author Topic: Salt Maker?  (Read 9191 times)

Offline Jan Ann

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • I Know,If I Get to the Core then Answers R There!
    • View Profile
Salt Maker?
« on: Sunday 07 August 05 13:22 BST (UK) »
Hi There

I am studying my family history - the Knight family of Droitwich in particular - and have noticed that several of my family members were 'salt makers'.  does anyone have any idea about this profession and does anyone know of any sites that contain old photos of Droitwich and the salt mines(?) etc

Cheers
Jan
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

TIVEY, WILDE,
Alker, Barmore, Birchall, Bird, Bryan, Chant, Clare,  Crump, Dow, Edwards, Fairbrother, Faulkner, Frearson, Frogson, Glew, Halliday, Heathcote, Hesford, Holliday, Jones, Knight, Massey, Mather, McKenna, Mee, Melling, Neal, O'Brien, Ottewell, Pimblett, Pinks, Price, Quinn, Rampling, Richards, Richardson, Rowley, Royle, Shakespeare, Shaw, Sheldon, Tandy, Thompson, Wade, Walker,  & more!

Offline Valda

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Salt Maker?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 07 August 05 13:51 BST (UK) »
I don't think it was mines. I think it was wells. They pumped the salty water to the surface (I think it was more salty than the Dead sea) and then extracted the salt in the salt works.
You can purchase a pictorial history of Droitwich from Phillimores
http://www.phillimore.co.uk/acatalog/Bookshop_Individual_places_in_Worcestershire_117.html
Worcestershire county council have also produced a publication
http://www.worcestershire.gov.uk/home/cs-archeo-info/cs-archeo-publications.htm

And it you fancy the experience of bathing in the hot brine baths, you can book yourself in here
http://www.brinebath.co.uk/
I went as a child but the baths have been closed for years. They have now reopened a whole new health centre, so well worth the experience if you've never tried it and if you are in England a lot closer than the Dead Sea.