Author Topic: Guernsey or Jersey McCafferty  (Read 4455 times)

Offline Cog

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Guernsey or Jersey McCafferty
« on: Wednesday 26 March 14 22:34 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone

This is my first time researching Channel Islands (also using iPad) . I have an ancestor Mary Ann McCafferty, she is recorded on census pages as being born in either JErsey or Guernsey (mostly Jersey). She married Robert Hazell in Kingston Ontario CAnada in 1848 , Robert was in the a Royal Artillery, the appear in England in 1851 onwards (although I haven't found them on the 1861 census)- he may have been posted overseas. The marriage certificate is one that was recorded by the army and it doesn't have Mary Ann's fathers name on it , I did think that it would have to be recorded in the England and Wales records but I can't find it there . I tried family search to see if I could find her birth there but have only come across a birth for a Charles McCafferty in 1848, MAry being born in 1828 according to census pages. Any tips on how to research or find any information on Mary? I realise that her name is not usual of the Channel Islands. I found one on the 1841 census spelt Mickafferty living with a family called Le Coq in st HElier. Sorry for bad typing . Any help appreciated

Carol
O'GRADY - DUBLIN,TIPPERARY,& ENGLAND
DOOLEY - TIPPERARY, CO LAOIS
KAVANAGH - DUBLIN
HARRIS- CLARE, CORK, & ENGLAND
BLANEY, DOYLE FURLONG -  WEXFORD
FURLONG-WEXFORD
MELICAN- CLARE

OTHER NAME INTERESTS - MORAN ,CORBETT, LILLIS, MCGERRY, MCNAMARA, MCGRANE, BRENNAN.....All County Clare & Scattery Island

Offline t mo

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Guernsey or Jersey McCafferty
« Reply #1 on: Monday 31 March 14 20:31 BST (UK) »
hi carol