Author Topic: Could Colvin and Collie be the same?  (Read 4759 times)

Offline Carolynxyz

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Could Colvin and Collie be the same?
« on: Tuesday 20 November 12 05:40 GMT (UK) »
Hello,
I'm new to Scottish research as most of my ancestors are English, so I'm hoping that someone might be able to shed light on a dilemma I have.  In a nutshell, these are the facts:

George and Jessie Anderson of Bervie had eight children between 1839 and 1856, and for each baptism (established church), Jessie's name is given as Jessie Colvin

The 1855 birth certificate of Alexander Anderson states that Jessie was married to George Anderson in Laurencekirk in 1836, but I have a record which says that in 1836 Laurencekirk, George Anderson married Margaret Colvin

George's death certificate of 1863 says that he was married to Jessie Collie and Jessie's death certificate of 1867 says that she is the widow of George Anderson, labourer of Bervie and that her parents were Robert Collie and Janet Beattie.

So I'm trying to verify that Jessie Colvin, Margaret Colvin and Jessie Collie are the same woman.  There is no evidence to suggest that Jessie Colvin died and George remarried to a Jessie Collie, but I suppose this is a possibility.  On census returns, and the 1855 certificate, Jessie says that she was born around 1812 in Fetterresso, but I cannot find a baptism of a Jessie (or Janet, Jean or Jane) or Margaret Colvin or Collie anywhere.  Her parents were married in Dunnottar, though.  Interestingly, I have evidence of a Robert Collie in Fetteresso who could be a brother and who also seems to switch back and forth between Collie and Colvin.  Familysearch and Scotland's People throw no light on the matter.

I do hope that someone can advise me on this matter!
Thank you,
Carolyn

Offline MonicaL

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate