Author Topic: Monilaws/Moneylaws  (Read 5650 times)

Offline Wirespark

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Monilaws/Moneylaws
« on: Sunday 24 August 14 18:40 BST (UK) »
I'm a total beginner, please forgive any transgressions.  Cursory internet searches have yielded little factual information, and I'd ask if any in the group have run across the above surnames.  I've found reference to three generations of clergymen named Monilaws, the eldest, Alexander at Kirkpatrick Fleming,  James at Annan, and unnamed at Middlebie.  Alexander died July 1839, but no other information has come to light.  I do have fairly good Canadian records, starting with George Monilaws (1792-1845) active in Galt, Ontario, Canada by 1832 - but no indication of birthplace.  I also have a George and a James Monilaws showing up as witnesses on church documents in 1781 in Innerwick, East Lothian.  I'd appreciate any suggestions.   Thanks,  Dave

Offline matt muir

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Monilaws/Moneylaws
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 26 August 14 21:38 BST (UK) »

Hi  Dave and welcome to the Forum.

I have no connection to your Monilaws but have had a look around to see if I could find anything to help.
I  assume that George Monilaws is your line & that the 3 clergymen are hopefulls.
I have a copy of Scottish Emigrants to Canada.
On it I have found a reference to a George Monilaws b circa 1792- died  29th April 1845. It suggests that he was either from Roxburghshire or Dumfriesshire,Scotland. He emigrated to Ontario and settled in
North Dumfries Township,Waterloo County, on Concession No 11.
He was married to Isabella Taylor & they had 5 children.
John,Janet (b 1835), Christina,George & Robert.
There is a seperate reference to his wife Isabella Taylor. It states that she married No1, George Monilaws &