Author Topic: Seeking info on STEEL / STEELE, Clark and Nimmo families in Linlithgow Scotland  (Read 6148 times)

Offline drsteele

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
I'm new to RootsChat...any suggestions on where to search for this info is welcome!

Searching for generations further back for the following people: 

John Steel/Steele.  DOB unknown but approx. 1800; married Mary Clark on 5 Dec 1828 in Linlithgow. Mary died in childbirth in 1848.  came to US after Mary died in childbirth).  Took his surviving children to Hamilton, Canada in 1857, and then moved to Scott County, Iowa and homesteaded there.  He died in May of 1870.  Seems to have gone by Steel in Scotland and Steele in the US, but not sure about that.

His wife Mary Clark was christened 11 Oct 1807 in Linlithgow, Scotland.  Her parents were William Clark and Jean Nimmo.

John and Mary's children were named Jean Steele (b. 1 nov 1829 in Linlithgow, came to US), a daughter who died at birth 'in Kingscavil',  son John b. 4 Feb 1833 in Kingscavil, William born 5 dec 18xx (not sure of year) in Mains Linlithgow, James b. 8 Sep 1838 in Culross, Peter b. 13 Jun 1840 in Culross, Robert b. 7 Oct 1842 in Kellywood Kincardine, another daughter who died at birth in sep 1845 in Kellywood Kincardine.

There were two John Steels in Linlithgow at that time...the other John married Janet Davidson either one year before or after the other John married.  NOT the same people.

Hoping to find additional information on these people.  I appreciate any tips you have for me to find a birth date for John, and further generations back.

Many thanks!

Offline KCLARK

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Seeking info on STEEL / STEELE, Clark and Nimmo families in Linlithgow Scotland
« Reply #1 on: Friday 06 August 10 21:50 BST (UK) »
Hi,