Author Topic: Drogheda death 1953  (Read 11518 times)

Offline yelkcub

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Drogheda death 1953
« on: Monday 07 May 12 11:56 BST (UK) »
I have no experience of researching in the Republic - I'd be grateful for help / hints.
I'm interested in CHRISTOPHER BUCKLEY, death registered in Drogheda, 1953 (exact date not known).
I'm still trying to trace my paternal grandfather who left his family around 1932, when my late father was six or so. A family tradition has it that he went to live in Ireland, though he had no family connections there. He was born in Rochdale in December 1895. Any clues, hints gratefully received on how I might find whether the Christopher Buckley who died in Drogheda in 1953 was or was not my grandfather.
Ian

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Drogheda death 1953
« Reply #1 on: Monday 07 May 12 12:00 BST (UK) »
The Irish BMD Index is available on the FamilySearch website and covers Southern Ireland upto 1958. See :

BMD Index - Ireland

If you locate a possible match, then you can use the references to order a death cert from the GRO. Be aware that death certs dont include much detail, so you may need additional clues from other sources e.g. (deceased's occupation, address etc) to verify a link.

see : Ordering Certs from GRO Roscommon
         Details included on a Death Cert

and : Introduction to Irish Records

Shane
Remember to check the Resource boards :  Ireland, Dublin, Antrim & Cork (and stickies at the top of other county sub-forums)    
My Surname Interests

Offline yelkcub

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 07 May 12 12:51 BST (UK) »
Thanks for that - I did as you suggested and looked at the Irish BMD, discovering that the Christopher Buckley who died in Drogheda in 1953 was the right age. Certainly worth further investigation.