Author Topic: Another Murray Search  (Read 6646 times)

Offline Lauramars

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Another Murray Search
« on: Sunday 03 March 13 06:17 GMT (UK) »
Hello  :)  I'm new at this but I've been doing a lot of looking around and am very overwhelmed.  Where do I start if I have very little information?  I know my GGgrandfather's name (Patrick Murray - at least it was when he came to the U.S.) and I have his approximate year of birth.  I believe I also know a couple of his sibling's names.  He came from Carlow and was Roman Catholic.  But that's it.  Several others, before me, have attempted this but surely there has to be something somewhere!  He didn't just materialize!  ;)  Any guidance at all would be appreciated!

Offline ballydw

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Another Murray Search
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 03 March 13 08:52 GMT (UK) »
When approx was Patricks year of birth?  Do you have a marriage Cert for him it should have his fathers name. What were his siblings names? When approx did he emigrate to US :)

Offline Lauramars

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 03 March 13 16:12 GMT (UK) »
Hello ballydw,  thanks for your response.

I do have his marriage cert but there are no parents names listed on it.  He used 1817 as his year of birth but the ages he reported on all of the US census records put his birth anywhere from 1817-1828.  He used Mar 17 as his birthdate but a relative who visited Ireland 15 yrs ago was told if emigrants didn't know their birthdate they were given St. Patrick's Day.

I believe a couple of his siblings names were James and Mary.  Other relatives believe he is the Patrick Murray who arrived on the Sarah Sheaffe in May of 1936 but if so, he is unaccounted for until he married my GGGrandmother in 1853.