Author Topic: lookup for 1841 Dunstable  (Read 882 times)

Offline jomatty

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
lookup for 1841 Dunstable
« on: Wednesday 21 December 05 15:06 GMT (UK) »
Hi I am new to this I am trying to find if my great grandfather was born in Dunstable He is Thomas Medcraft
Born 1838 I think as I have two birth years and two birth places He married in Tasmania I know nothing else before his marriage Can someone help me

Thank you  Jo
Medcraft, Rowe,Barrett,Briggs,Hearps,Herps,Tempest
Gilding,Wood Atkinson,Greenwood,Krygger

Offline bedfordshire boy

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: lookup for 1841 Dunstable
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 21 December 05 16:37 GMT (UK) »
Hi Jo

Welcome to Rootschat.

The parish register for Dunstable has been extracted to the IGI up to 1876 and there is no baptism for a Thomas around 1838. As you know there was a Thomas age 13 in Dunstable in 1851, born London, probably Clerkenwell. However his father Joseph was born in Dunstable - christened 29 March 1807, son of John and Mary Medcraft.  www.familysearch.org if you're not familiar with the IGI. However that detail is premature until you can show that the Thomas who went to Australia is the one born 1838.

I've looked through Dunstable in 1841 but couldn't see them, not that I expected to as the family that was in Dunstable in 1851 that included Thomas 13 born London  were producing children in Middlesex up to 1850.  The same family, minus Thomas, was still in Dunstable in 1861 with the elder offspring giving a birthplace of Clerkenwell.