Author Topic: Glencrosh Farm  (Read 2100 times)

Offline Lilias in B.C.

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Glencrosh Farm
« on: Tuesday 05 October 04 21:10 BST (UK) »
  Hi All: I am new to RootsChat. This is my first time.

I am looking for ANY information on the Gibsons of Glencrosh farm or Estate in Glencairn parish.   The Gibsons were proprietors there, from the mid - 1600's -- about  1850.

There were a LOT of Johns, some Alexanders, and other names.  Any information about the Farm or any members of those Gibson families would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.                 Lilias in B.C.

Offline SLaurie

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Glencrosh Farm
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 05 October 05 20:03 BST (UK) »

I am looking for ANY information on the Gibsons of Glencrosh farm or Estate in Glencairn parish.   The Gibsons were proprietors there, from the mid - 1600's -- about  1850.

Hi Lilias,

In 1841, the Glencrosh farm was occupied by the family of farmer Robert McMILLAN, who was also of independent means.  He was born outside of DFS, circa 1795.

There were no Gibsons present at Glencrosh for either the 1841 or the 1851 censuses of Glencairn.  Let me know if you'd like the names of the other occupants (most notably the McMillan family) during 1841.

Cheers,

Shane

in Dumfriesshire: Laurie, Coulthard, Story
in Kirkcudbrightshire: Edwards, Mills, Pagan
in Banffshire & Kincardine: Lawson
in St. Ninians, Stirling: Rattray
in Down, Ireland: Cotter, Morton, McCullough 
in Somerset: Barnett, Cobbett, Guppy
in London, Middlesex (Marylebone): Packer
in West Prussia & Canada: Kusch, Pershick

Offline OzScot11

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 31 March 16 10:04 BST (UK) »
Hi Lilias,