Author Topic: Clean up a sepia 8x10 family portrait  (Read 927 times)

Offline lbj

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Clean up a sepia 8x10 family portrait
« on: Saturday 08 April 06 16:45 BST (UK) »
This is my first time on this board.  Just received a few pictures of my grandparents from a distant relative.  This family portrait is faded and has a few spots on it where something has been transferred from handling.  The paper it is printed on is textured and the texture seems to have transferred when I scanned the image. 

Can anything be done to even out the background fading and possibly clean up the spots on grandma's left shoulder and the middle children's clothing?  There is some discoloration on the center boy's chin area as well.  Anything one can do will be appreciated.  Thanks.
LAWRENCE-Hampshire, England; Kansas, USA
HAINES-Wiltshire, England
STEPHENS-Bristol, England;Ontario, Canada; Illinois, USA
COPELAND-County Down, Ireland; Ontario, Canada; Kansas, USA
BOBIK-Slovakia; Pennsylvania & Ohio, USA
PARNAHAY (PARNAHAJ)-Slovakia; Pennsylvania, USA

Offline kizmiaz

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Clean up a sepia 8x10 family portrait
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 08 April 06 17:51 BST (UK) »
Hi LBJ, and welcome to the wonderful world of the Photo board

You'll find us all beavering away here from morning till night, having a ball messing around with other peoples photos. Its a great place to hang out.

Anyway. Great photo. I'd kill to have a picture like this of any of my family. They all seem to have gone for the "rush job" approach to photos.

Hope you like it

Glen

------------------------------
(For Sherwood.
This is roughly what I did to it. Using Paintshop Pro 7 and Neat Image
Step 1.
Split channels to RGB. Lightened blue channel. Combined channels. Copied green layer as New Layer and set Blend Mode to multiply. Reduced opacity (This all increased the contrast)
Step 2
Ran the image through Neat Image with low Noise Reduction settings
Step 3