Author Topic: Pre 1837 BDM  (Read 1295 times)

Offline FadedKnight

• I am sorry but my emails are no longer working
  • RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Pre 1837 BDM
« on: Thursday 04 November 04 15:52 GMT (UK) »
Hi

I've traced my fathers direct line back to 1809 through various sites and census returns.

I believe I've fourn my GGG grandfather's baptism on the IGI, which gives a date of 19 Nov 1809. This ties up with all the other evidence I've collected and give my GGGG grandfather's name. The site has this information - I do not know what it is for - is it something I can order?

C051281  1538 - 1837  0916853   Film  0933231   Film 

As a beginner I now need some advice as to what to do next.

I've ordered the 1841 census CD covering Knowestone in Devon, but that has yet to arrive. I'm hoping it might have my GGGG grandfather's age and place of birth - but beyond this I'm quite stuck. I've bought a few books and read some sites, and know I need to find parish records, but where are they? Do I need to go to Devon and if so what am I looking for? None of the books I have really go into much detail.

How do I go about getting actual certificates for any event pre 1837?

A slightly separate note - I cannot find a record ofr my gg grandfather's birth. I have him in the 1851, 71, 81 and 1901 census, but cannot find him on 1837 or freebmd. A couple of people on other boards have also said they cannot find and entry and the birth probably wasn't registerd. This isn;t stopping me from going back any further as I have other evidence and have his fathers' baptism (see above - soory this is quite a long post).

Does it matter that I cannot find his birth records, can I get a birth certificate from a parish source, and can I legitimately use the census data to state whom his father is (I'm concered that he could be iligitimate). The info I have is he was Henry Chapple born 1850 in Knowestone Devon, to Thomas Chapple and Mary.