Author Topic: What to do if "not registered born"  (Read 6091 times)

Offline lzc

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
What to do if "not registered born"
« on: Tuesday 10 October 06 21:19 BST (UK) »
I'm quite new to this family tree stuff and have come against a bit of a block.  I have found the marriage of my gggGranddad John Christie to Elspet Gauld in Strachan in 1855.  The only problem is that he is 22 and according to the marriage certificate he was born in Marykirk but the birth was not registered.  It has his parents as David Christie and Elizabeth Christie.  How can I go further back than John without any birth records for him?  I have found John in the 1851 Census in Fordoun working as a farm labourer.  Also possibly in Glenbervie in the 1841 Census at the age of 8 as an agricultural labourer (this census doesn't have the place of birth on it so I can't confirm it's definitely him).  Any suggestions for how I can get any further back and also on why he wasn't registered born would be really helpful.
Thanks ??? ???

Offline Little Nell

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: What to do if "not registered born"
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 10 October 06 22:25 BST (UK) »
Hi lzc

Welcome to RootsChat.

Civil registration only began in Scotland in 1855, so presumably what it means is that his birth was not recorded in the parish records at the time of his birth or even that he was not baptised.  Some parish ministers did not keep the records properly and in Scotland many burials were never recorded at all.  There was more interest in the living!

Does the marriage certificate say if his parents are still alive?  If you can find a death certificate for either of them after 1855, then you will find their parents' names (including maiden names of the mother).  That at least would take you another generation back.

Nell