Author Topic: Richard PIKE of Newbury  (Read 4038 times)

Offline dapike

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Richard PIKE of Newbury
« on: Tuesday 17 October 06 00:54 BST (UK) »
I'm wondering if anybody has information about a Richard PIKE of Newbury, born in 1598.  His son Richard gave rise to a prominent family in Cork, Ireland.

One thing that has me a bit confused are the occasional statements that Richard (born in 1598) was "Sir Richard".  However, I have not yet found any authoritative/reliable references.

- David.
Some of my surname interests in the UK: 
  HOBBS and LINTERN (in Ditcheat, Somerset)
  PREST / PRICE / PRIEST (in Cranborne, Dorset)
  PIKE (in Poole, Dorset as well as Portsmouth, Hampshire)

I am a volunteer administrator for the Pike/Pyke DNA Project...
https://www.math.mun.ca/~dapike/family_history/pike/DNA

Offline newburychap

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Richard PIKE of Newbury
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 18 October 06 20:17 BST (UK) »
You say "of Newbury" - where does this come form - there are no PIKEs baptised in Newbury, Berkshire in that period. Could it be another Newbury (Somerset, Kent or Wiltshire)?  Or even Newby?

Of course he may not have been baptised in the parish church (Catholic perhaps).

After a quick bit of googling I see there are possible links to Somerset but a fair way from Newbury . . . . . .
Latest project - www.westberkshirewarmemorials.org.uk
Currently researching:<br /> Newbury pubs  & inns - the buildings, breweries and publican families.
Member of Newbury District Field Club - www.ndfc.org.uk

Offline dapike

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 18 October 06 21:53 BST (UK) »
Richard is described as "of Newbury, Berks" in a number of places, including in Burke's.  Several of his descendants were Quakers, so perhaps he might have been as well.

- David.

Offline newburychap

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 19 October 06 00:22 BST (UK) »