Author Topic: Bottoms family - Co.Durham  (Read 2203 times)

Offline topo

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Bottoms family - Co.Durham
« on: Tuesday 20 March 07 14:27 GMT (UK) »
I would love to hear from anyone researching the Bottoms family from Durham & Middleton-in-Teesdale - especially before 1834. Thomas born circa 1804 was my 3x Great Grandfather who married Mary Johnson in 1834 at Kelloe.
Judi

Offline jennhill72

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Bottoms family - Co.Durham
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 16 April 17 06:27 BST (UK) »
Hello, Judi! 

I am just beginning my research on the Bottoms family.  I am not as far back as you are requesting but have recently found a few cousins who might have some information.  I have only gone back to my great grandmother, Hannah Jane Bottoms, who was born around 1891-ish.  I believe her father's name was Thomas.  I am fascinated with finding out more about them.  I know it has been about ten years since your post but hoping to hear back from you. 

Jenn

Offline topo

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 16 April 17 13:36 BST (UK) »
Hi Jen
Thank you for your message. I don't have Hannah Jane Bottoms in my tree but 19 Thomas Bottoms'....!!! - okay they do range from 1700's to 1930's. Keep in touch ( dollybeck @ btinternet. com ) with anyone else you have in the tree. My family came from around Middleton-in-Teesdale, Kello, Skeers. Thomas Bottoms (1804-1856) married Mary Johnson and they had a large family. Thomas was killed in a horse drawn railway accident so all but one son emigrated to USA so starting a dynasty in Pennsylvania...!!!!! Look forward to hearing from you.
Judith

Offline trish1120

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Happy me
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 16 April 17 14:20 BST (UK) »
Welcome to Rootschat Jenn.

Your Hannah Jane was born Northumberland and not Durham to THOMAS/HANNAH Bottoms nee NAPIER.