Author Topic: William Blundell. 1700's. Meppershall  (Read 3357 times)

Offline mepsal

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
William Blundell. 1700's. Meppershall
« on: Thursday 03 May 07 12:38 BST (UK) »
Even though I'm a searcher in my spare time I can't find where William Blundell [alive in the 1760s] was buried.
He was fit and well in the 1730s and living in my house, running the family farm. By 1760 his brother John was writing in his diary that he was giving money to "my poor unhappy brother William". All the family are buried in Meppershall except William. I'd love to find him.
For "unhappy" I'm reading 'depressed' or mentally ill but that might be because I'm a psychologist. i can't think of any other reason why he would need support from a younger brother.
William had married Sarah HOBBS from Wymondley [a second marriage for her]. The Blundell family were quite well off, being successful and respected people. I just wish I could find my missing William.

Offline bedfordshire boy

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: William Blundell. 1700's. Meppershall
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 03 May 07 15:37 BST (UK) »
Welcome to Rootschat!

He married in 1730 in Wymondley Herts, and they appear to have had two children baptised in Meppershall in 1732 and 1736. The only Sarah to be buried in Meppershall was in 1734, but I can't see who she was. Could she have been William's wife and the daughter christened in 1736 was as a 2 year old? The parish register may shed light on this.

If that isn't her then neither of them appears to have been buried in Beds - could they have returned to Herts?

Regards

David
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Beds:   Cople: Luke/Spencer
            Everton: Hale
            Henlow: Cooper/Watts/Sabey/Rook
            Potton:  Merrill
            Southill: Faulkner/Litchfield/Sabey/Rook