Author Topic: Knowles family in South Africa  (Read 6088 times)

Offline knowlesfamily

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Knowles family in South Africa
« on: Monday 15 October 07 17:28 BST (UK) »
My dad believes that his Great Uncle Albert Knowles Bn 1874 at Chesterfield Derbyshire emigrated to South Africa in the early 1900s.
Formerly of Chesterfield Derbyshire I have found him in the 1901 Census living in Levenshulme Manchester with his wife Mary born 1875 in Littleborough Lancs and two children John P Knowles Bn 1899 and Henry Bn 1901.were both born in Levenshulme.
Albert was a roofer/Slater Builder by trade.
The family have no knowledge of Albert apart from the fact he lived in Johannesburg South Africa.
I have no idea where to start has anyone any ideas.
Regards
Malc Knowles

Offline Dippnallfamily

• RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
Re: Knowles family in South Africa
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 29 January 08 14:41 GMT (UK) »
There was a family by the name of Knowles in Pinetown near Durban in Natal (now Kwa-Zulu Natal) who owned a supermarket which was still going strong in the late 1970's.  You can try and trace the Pinetown family through the yellow pages. www.yellowpages.co.za (i think)

Another way of tracing family is by googling - community newspapers south africa and send a letter to various Johannesberg papers (very large city) and to Pinetown and Durban papers.

Hope that helps - the Pinetown Knowles were known by my mother-in-laws family but there is no-one left who may remember them personally.

Regards,

Cathy Dippnall

Offline EmPea

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 03 February 08 12:01 GMT (UK) »
Hi Marc

I think this is the guy you are looking for:

DEPOT     TAB                                                                   
SOURCE    MHG                                                                   
REFERENCE 6421/56