Author Topic: Garvey Family of Dundalk?  (Read 8144 times)

Offline Christine52

• RootsChat Extra
  • Mary Ann Garvey Madden abt. 1905
    • View Profile
Garvey Family of Dundalk?
« on: Wednesday 23 January 08 07:11 GMT (UK) »
My g-grandparents were Michael and Bridget Garvey.  They lived in Belfast from at least 1907 (per street directory and 1911 census) but they were natives of Co. Louth (very probably Dundalk).  Michael Garvey was a butcher by trade.  I would love to find out more about them.  It could be that before going to Belfast that Michael practiced his trade in Louth.  It looks like most of the family made the move to Belfast.  At least one of their sons, possibly 2 or 3 of them, ended up in the USA.  My great-uncle, Michael Garvey ended up in Detroit, Michigan, USA.

In the census taken in Belfast in 1911, Michael was listed as being 62 years old and Bridget 57.  Also shown on that census were some of their adult children:   James, 29; Owen, 27; Bridget, 22; and my visiting grandmother, Mary Ann "Molly" Garvey Madden, 36.

Any information at all would be greatly appreciated as I've been looking for my Irish family for a long, long time.
Michael Garvey (a butcher by trade) m. Bridget Sharkey both natives of Co. Louth.
Patrick Madden m. Mary Garvey, (He was a constable in RIC, joined in Galway and served in Belfast, Sligo, Fermanaugh and Tyrone.  She was daughter of Michael and Bridget Garvey)

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Garvey Family of Dundalk?
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 23 January 08 13:57 GMT (UK) »
Could this be the family?
Michael Garvey - Bridget Sharkey:
1. Mary Ann born 15 Mar.1873 Dundalk dist.
2. Catharine born 15 Mar.1875 Dundalk dist.
3. Patrick Joseph born 7 June 1877 Ireland
4. James born 21 Nov.1880 Co. Louth
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline Christine52

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile