Author Topic: Date Opinions and Uniform Question Please  (Read 3149 times)

Offline *sparkle*

• I has chosen not to receive notifications of new replies
  • RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Date Opinions and Uniform Question Please
« on: Saturday 26 January 08 15:11 GMT (UK) »
Further to this post, it is either the lady on the left or the man on the right that is related to one or more of the ladies with the hats..... I have still no idea which.... and am still dreaming of finding out......

http://www.rootschat.com/forum/index.php/topic,277379.0.html

Anyway after veering off topic, the point of this post is to ask opinions on date, and the uniform of this picture.

The lady is Jane Watt Manderson b. 5.10.1884
The man is George Dickson b. 27.4.1885

They married 31.12.1909 in Galashiels, Selkirkshire. George was a painter by trade.

I'm presuming the pic is pre WW1 but I'm not sure, which is where I'd like to ask your opinions on when it may have been taken and is there any way of identifying the uniform.

Thanks!!!

Tx

Offline old rowley

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • first steps
    • View Profile
Re: Date Opinions and Uniform Question Please
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 26 January 08 16:52 GMT (UK) »
I would suggest that this is a photograph taken around about the 1st ww period rather than before. As for the cap badge it is hard to make out properly but I would suggest that you either repost this onto the armed forces board or put a link on there back to this photograph, I feel sure that someone on that board would be able to help in identifying his regiment (Atom would be the best bet) rather than for me to take a guess at the which one that he belonged to.

old rowley