Author Topic: Drum & Monkey murder!!  (Read 6294 times)

Offline diddymiller

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Drum & Monkey murder!!
« on: Tuesday 08 July 08 08:39 BST (UK) »
Hi, I am doing some research for a friend.

She believes that one of her ancestors murdered a game keeper by killing him with a pitchfork at the 'Drum & Monkey' pub at Shepshed.
The pub was closed down after that and reverted back to a dwelling house. it is still there. it is on the main Ashby road going towards Coalville at the crossroads of Belton And Swanneymote road. There used to be a garage there but it is now a kennels.

we dont know when the pub closed down. early 1900's?

I live locally. my friend says she has checked in the local library but I will go and have a look myself as i used to be a librarian and know the ins and outs!!

Does anyone out there have any info on the pub history or the murder. I have looked on Black sheep and tried googling various options.

Diddy
Cooks -(Clackmannanshire); Erskines - (fife); Youngs - (Dunfermline); Charltons - (Tyneside ); Skillings - (N.Norfolk); Legg - (N.Yorks, Tyneside) ; Carter - (Durham); Miller -(suffolk); Pattinson -(Lincs)

Offline Mike from Leicester

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • " THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE. SOMEWHERE"
    • View Profile
Re: Drum & Monkey murder!!
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 08 July 08 17:24 BST (UK) »
Greeting’s Diddy….

Have you tried the Trade Directories ?

http://www.historicaldirectories.org/hd/index.asp

Or There is always the trawl through local newspapers
On Micro film at the records Office
Leicester Journal, Leicester Mercury
Loughborough Echo

Or another site although Shepshed is not mentioned.. ....yet
But a site worth adding to your favorites :~

http://www.midlandspubs.co.uk/

MIKE.

Census Transcriptions are Crown Copyright from National Archives

Researching :-