Author Topic: which Charles Black ? COMPLETE  (Read 9397 times)

Offline andy14

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
which Charles Black ? COMPLETE
« on: Sunday 14 September 08 21:12 BST (UK) »
Dear all,

I'd value for opinions, I'm new to all of this, with some luck and info from other family members, I've got back realitively smoothly back to my 4xggf. Peter Black born 20/3/1802 in Dunbar. I know his parents areCharles Black & Janet Watson and that they where married 12/7/1799. However when I search SP for Chrles Black birth I get 19  born in scotland between 1770-1789 (a range I think would cover the likely birth given marriage date). 13 I can dismiss as born way out of range. The most likely is one born 19/2/1777 in Queensferry to Charles Black & Katharine Blackwood. Looking at the children of charles and janet, they have 5, the first born male being a charles black the first born female being a catharine. Does this look like a good bet? I can't find Charleson 1841 census or a death record on sp.

Thanks
Andy
Black- East lothian
miller- edinburgh, roxburgh and fife

Offline MonicaL

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Girl with firewood, Morar 1910 - MEM Donaldson
    • View Profile
Re: which Charles Black ?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 14 September 08 22:53 BST (UK) »
If you ever do connect to the Charles Black in Queensferry, you might be interested in his Will & Testament entry showing on SP:

Charles Black, 16/04/1779, baker in Queensferry,    TD, Edinburgh Commissary Court, Ref: CC8/8/124

Monica  :)
Census information Crown Copyright, www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline hume

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 21 September 08 13:07 BST (UK) »
Hi Andy,

Unfortunately it's looking likely Charles died before the 1841 census. :( I've found his wife Janet staying in Dunbar.

Address: Castle Street, Dunbar
Janet Black, f, 65, - b. Haddingtonshire