Author Topic: Uddingston photographer  (Read 3100 times)

Offline Glendaveny

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Uddingston photographer
« on: Monday 22 September 08 22:51 BST (UK) »
Does anyone know when a photographer called A Lemay worked at the Studio Royal, Uddingston?
I am researching Kemp, Emslie, Mitchell in Lumphanan, Aberdeenshire; Marshall, Shewan and Adie in Longside/Peterhead, Aberdeenshire; Still, Sim, Duncan and Andrew in Boyndie/Fordyce Banffshire; Niven, Bruce, Ross, Robert in Fetteresso / Durris, Kincardineshire.

I have been researching for over 20 years and have a very extensive tree involving each of those names, proven back to the early 18th century in some cases.

Offline ABradley

• RootsChat Senior
  • O'Brollachain
    • View Profile
Re: Uddingston photographer
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 23 September 08 10:08 BST (UK) »
Hi,

My parents wedding photograph in 1943 is by Le May in Uddingston.

Andrew
Bradley,Co.Derry
Shevlin
Doherty/Kearney,Donegal

Offline ABradley

• RootsChat Senior
  • O'Brollachain
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 23 September 08 10:14 BST (UK) »
Hi again,

On checking my aunts wedding picture that was taken by Le May in 1936.

Andrew
Bradley,Co.Derry
Shevlin
Doherty/Kearney,Donegal

Offline Glendaveny

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Tuesday 23 September 08 22:39 BST (UK) »
Thanks for that Andrew.   Do the photos just show the name, or is there an address?  My one says Studio Royal, Uddingston.

The problem I have, is that the photo is of people who lived all their lives in eastern Aberdeenshire and I have no idea why they would ever have been in Uddingston - especially in the early 1920s, which is when I think my one may have been taken.   I did wonder if this was a photographer who travelled around the country.  Were your people local to Uddingston?