Author Topic: HMS MONARCH - advice needed  (Read 2002 times)

Offline ceiriog1

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
HMS MONARCH - advice needed
« on: Sunday 26 July 09 15:35 BST (UK) »
Hello all

I am hoping that you all could provide me with help and advice on researching the HMS MONARCH between Nov 1855 - Jun 1858.

I am an absolute novice in naval history/research and wish to avoid expensive research at the archives.

I am interested in the HMS MONARCH as my ancestor's Master Mariner service records show that he served on this ship between the dates shown above.  He was not a navy man so I'm unsure how to go about getting info - initial google searches haven't come up with anything concrete.

All suggestions would be most welcome, many thanks

Offline grandarog

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • The Original Ancestor
    • View Profile
Re: HMS MONARCH - advice needed
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 26 July 09 19:07 BST (UK) »
Hi Ceirirog 1,
                    Have you really persevered with  Google ,HMS Monarch brings up losds of hits.
                                                                                                             Regards Rog
WAGHORN/E
KENWARD
HARRIS
DIXON
MARSHALL
MERCER
CARE
FAGG
RUSSELL
WOODRUFF      

All these  Families were Born and Bred in Kent

Offline Little Nell

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 26 July 09 21:37 BST (UK) »
In June 1854 HMS Monarch was in the Baltic.  By 1855 she was headed for the Baltic again having been in ?South America by the looks of it.

But you say he was a Master Mariner, not a navy man, so I would think he was a merchant seaman. 

Have a look at this website:

http://www.mariners-l.co.uk/UK19thCSeamen.html

and the research guides from the National Archives, available to download here:

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk./catalogue/researchguidesindex.asp?WT.lp=fh-rg&j=1#m

Nell