Author Topic: can deserted wife remarry after several years?  (Read 4287 times)

Offline sossle

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
can deserted wife remarry after several years?
« on: Friday 21 August 09 17:32 BST (UK) »
Could anyone please tell me if a man deserted his wife could she remarry after several years? My Grt Grandmother remarried in a Church of England Church 9years plus after her husband left her. She is down as a widow on the marriage certificate of her 2nd marriage. Would she have to prove to the church that she was a widow. I know there were a lot of bigamous marriages in the early 1900's but she had lived with another man for at least 8 years before she married him. I can't find the death of her first husband but maybe he died in WW1.

Offline Luzzu

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: can deserted wife remarry after several years?
« Reply #1 on: Friday 21 August 09 17:52 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I'm no expert but I think  ??? if a person goes missing, under UK law, they can be declared "presumed dead" after 7 years and this would be done through the courts.  Therefore the partner presumably would be free to marry again.

Luzzu
Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Manchester General Cemetery Transcription Project

Armitage, Slaithwaite; Buck, Staffs & Hampshire; Buckley, Bolton & Manchester; Temple, London & Hampshire; Crummett, Norfolk & Burnley; Osborne, Cornwall & Burnley; Haigh, Manchester & Todmorden; Gralton/Grant, Manchester & Ireland; France, Manchester & Slaithwaite; Shackleton, Burnley & Yorkshire; Dicks, Nottingham & Wiltshire; Sowter, Derbyshire

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.

Offline sossle

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 21 August 09 18:06 BST (UK) »
Hi,