Author Topic: Lewis Thomas - Naas  (Read 6178 times)

Offline Smuffy

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Lewis Thomas - Naas
« on: Monday 28 September 09 16:14 BST (UK) »
I am totally new to this so I do hope this makes sense.

I just discovered that a couple of ancestors of mine are buried in St David's churchyard in Naas.  I know very little about them but they are direct ancestors.  Lewis Thomas was Indian Army (I think) and died in India in 1824 but I have found something saying he is buried in the churchyard (maybe just a memorial?).  His father was also Lewis Thomas and I don't have any dates for him at all but I know he married a daughter of Edward Lovett Pearce MP.  That Lewis Thomas always seems to be down as Lewis Thomas, Kilkenny, but I don't know why.

Can anyone suggest if there is some way of finding out more about both men called Lewis Thomas (the younger one was a Major General) and whether they actually lived in Naas for them to be buried there?

Offline Billiejo

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: Lewis Thomas - Naas
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 03 October 09 02:17 BST (UK) »
The Church of Our Lady's & St Davids is situated on the Sallins Rd Naas Co Kildare. Not sure about the Cemetary.
The dates mentioned are when the British Army was stationed in the area EG.  Naas, Newbridge & The Curragh Camp/ HQ.
Many of the soldiers lived, married, died & buried  in the surrounding areas EG The Curragh, Newbridge and Naas.
The library in Naas has a Heritage Centre which can be found in the phone book.

Offline Gill Hancock

• RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 08 April 13 11:26 BST (UK) »