Author Topic: Jewish Ancestors in Dublin  (Read 25565 times)

Offline HarrysGirl2

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Jewish Ancestors in Dublin
« on: Monday 09 November 09 22:36 GMT (UK) »
Hi,

I'm new to RootsChat, so I'm bound to make some mistakes, which I apologize now for. 

I'm searching for my Gt. Grandfather, his name was Tobias Freedman & he was Jewish.  His Hebrew name was Tobia.  His son Louis Freedman (my grandfather) first appears in the UK when he married Russian born Rachel Simon in Leeds in 1890, where they had their first son, Gedaliah/Daniel/Dal/David/Dave.  Louis's Hebrew name was Yahuda. 

I have found a Louis Friedman travelling from Hamburg on 2nd Nov 1889.  He gave his residence as Lomza, Russland (Russia)  His occupation: Hawker - his age was 23 (Born about 1866) I'm pretty certain that this is my grandfather as his family name has been found as Friedman or Freedman & has now evolved to Freeman. 

EDIT:-
This Louis from Lomza has now been eliminated:

I 'thought' I'd found my grandfather on a shipping list in November 1889 from Hamburg - destination Hull.  The timing was just right to marry his first wife Rachel in Leeds, in April 1890. This Louis Friedman was from LOMZA. His occupation was given in German as Handler = Dealer/Hawker his age was 23 & there were no other Friedman's on the list.  I tried everything to link him to my grandfather ... but nothing. 

So, I followed the guy who was next in line, listed after Louis from Lomza on the shipping list.  His name was Max Grawecki & he was aged 20 & also from Lomza. Of course, Max could have been simply the next guy in line & nothing to do with Louis, but I searched the UK hoping to find a marriage for Max & perhaps Louis was a witness or perhaps they boarded together, but I found nothing of Max.