Author Topic: Dundalk marriages 1870- COMPLETED  (Read 5290 times)

Offline Pauline_Hutton

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Dundalk marriages 1870- COMPLETED
« on: Sunday 09 May 04 12:33 BST (UK) »
Can someone point me in the right direction to find out information on marriages which took place in Dundalk in 1870?

Many thanks
Pauline
East London:  Chamberlain, McCall, Selby, Coleman,  Jones, Humphries, Davies
South London:  Wannell, Carr, Sullivan, Holland
Kent: Day
Norfolk: Knopwood Caulk
Flintshire:  Davies; Jones
Ireland:  Rowe (Kildare & Dundalk), Collins (Cork)
Staffs: Carr, Powell

Offline SteveSims

• I am sorry but my emails are not working.
  • RootsChat Member
  • English + Irish + Welsh + Scots + German = Aussie
    • View Profile
Re:Dundalk marriages 1870
« Reply #1 on: Monday 14 June 04 16:46 BST (UK) »
Pauline,

I'm no expert, but I think your best bet is civil registration rather than church records (though I have also found marriages in newspapers - especially useful before registration).

LDS have parish register films for Dundalk, but the marriages end in 1803 for the Church of Ireland, and 1831 for the Catholic Church. I don't know why in this case, possibly the later ones destroyed in 1922?

Civil registration (in theory) covers all marriages from 1 Jan 1864 (Catholic marriages excluded before then).  See the GRO website
http://www.groireland.ie/research.htm

By mail, you can order a photocopy (rather than a certified copy) for only €3.80 but only if  you have the names and the date of the marriage. See the application form at
http://www.groireland.ie/apply_for_a_cert.htm

If you were in Dublin you could use the indexes in the GRO - but I guess that's not an option.

Fortunately the LDS have indexes. If your local LDS FHC do not have a permanent set of indexes (worth checking), you can order the films in.  Not all of them though, there are 334 films in the set.