Author Topic: COMPLETE why the name change?  (Read 5049 times)

Offline Riddlebrick

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
COMPLETE why the name change?
« on: Wednesday 23 December 09 21:14 GMT (UK) »
Hello

This is not a request for a 1911 lookup, I have a full subscription. I am really after view on this.

I have been looking for some relatives on the censuses they are:-

William Mordecai 1849 - 1912 and wife Elizabeth Mordecai (nee Henderson) 1853 -1929

and their children

Elizabeth Jane Mordecai 1869 –
Letitia Mordecai 1871 – 1880
William Henderson Mordecai 1873 – 1927
Mary Ann Mordecai 1875 –
Margaret Mordecai 1877 –
Jane Willis Mordecai 1879 –
John Mordecai 1881 –
Letitia Mordecai 1884 –
Edith Mordecai 1886 –
James Mordecai 1888 –
Florence Bella Mordecai 1889 – 1972
Herbert Herman Mordecai 1892 – 1918
Maud Mordecia 1894 – 1979

I found the relevant entries on 1851 to 1901 census records and having a 1911 subscription I moved onto there, obviously some had married by that point but others had not especially the 3 youngest.

I found Florence "Mordecia" working as a servant in Ryhope, Sunderland
I found her older brother William "Mordecai" and his family also in Ryhope, Sunderland.

As the parents were still alive in 1911 I searched for them but couldn't find them.  I decided to carry out a search on Herbert using only his forename and year of birth narrowing the search to Durham.  The result that came back was for a Herbert Carter, interestingly his parents were called William and Elizabeth Carter all at the correct ages and having the birthplace matching their Mordecai counterparts, another thing is that they were living 5 doors away from (son) William Mordecai in Ryhope, Sunderland. This can;t be anyone else but them in my book.