Author Topic: France: Lapaille Family  (Read 2007 times)

Offline Cranburygal

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
France: Lapaille Family
« on: Saturday 17 April 10 22:23 BST (UK) »
I am researching the Lapaille family of France.  Here's what I know so far:  The family first appears in the 1850 New York City census (surname spelled Lapell).  Rose is 40 and her daughters Juliette and Helena are 19 & 9.  Also living with them is Louisa Lapaille age 60.  All were born in France.  Rose or Rosa Lapaille's husband's name is Hypolite.  He is never named in any US census so I believe he died in France before Rose & her daughters came to the US.  I have been unable to find any immigration records for them but I believe they immigrated circa 1848.  I would like to find more info on them prior to 1850.  Any suggestions would be helpful.  I have never done any French research before.

Online jorose

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: France: Lapaille Family
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 18 April 10 22:57 BST (UK) »
There are no national indexes for France.

http://www.geopatronyme.com/ does suggest that "Lapaille" was mostly restricted to the north of France by 1891 although "Paille" was more widely spread. (This website only gives you an idea of which places they might have come from, it doesn't have individual records).

Do you have any records (maybe death records for Rose or for her daughters, maybe obituaries, etc) that give you an idea of either Rose's maiden name or where in France they came from?
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Cranburygal

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 19 April 10 03:33 BST (UK) »