Author Topic: HARKIN, Hugh and family research  (Read 16760 times)

Offline shoutlouder

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
HARKIN, Hugh and family research
« on: Tuesday 27 April 10 05:57 BST (UK) »
Hi all!

I'm new to genealogy and was wondering if I could find some help with some of my roadblocks on here. I'm currently researching my great grandmother's family from Donegal. Here's what I know so far:

My GGrandmother was Catherine Harkin (b. 1906 in Croagh). From the 1911 Census, I learned that she lived in the townland of Croagh with her father Hugh Harkin, mother Rose, and siblings Mary Anne, Maggie, Rose and John. (Also Hugh's brother Patrick lived next door) I know Mary Anne and John moved to the US before my GGrandmother did and I don't need further information on her or them.

What I would like to find is any information on their parents Hugh & Rose. I was able to estimate their birth dates from the census form but not much else (1872 for Hugh and 1871 for Rose). I can't seem to track down Rose's maiden name or Hugh's parents' names. Also I am interested in finding more about her siblings Maggie and Rose who I am pretty sure stayed in Ireland as well.

If anybody has information on this family, or can point me in a new direction so I can continue researching I'd really appreciate it!

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: HARKIN, Hugh and family research
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 27 April 10 07:43 BST (UK) »
IGI lists at least 12 possibilities for Hugh Harkin born Donegal 1866-1877 (and there could be other births that aren't listed) so you'll probably need to get marriage information to find his father's name and occupation and Hugh's residence and search from there.
Here's Hugh and Rose in 1911 census-
http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Donegal/Corkermore/Croagh/478940/
It gives them as married 10 years so 1900/1901.