Author Topic: Farm names in census  (Read 3897 times)

Offline azcoyen

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Farm names in census
« on: Thursday 12 August 10 13:31 BST (UK) »
Hello,
        I am new to Roots chat, hoping someone may be able to help me with research. My father was Ernest Alun JONES, born 1915 at "Glangwydderig Farm" in Llandovery. This farm still exists on Brecon Road.
Dad's parents - William Jones, farmer, born Llanfihangel,1870. Died Chingford, Essex 1941.
William married Anne WILLIAMS. Born Lampeter in 1874 died 1960 Chingford, Essex.
The Williams family farmed "Achethisaf" according to the census.
William Jones' parents were Daniel Jones born 1830 Llangeler, farmer at "Gellidewisaf" married Rachel Anne MORGAN born 1832 at Llangeler. Daniel's father was Daniel Jones born 1796 married to Anne ? born 1796.
Anne Williams parents were John WILLIAMS born 1843 in Llanycrwys who married Anne DAVIES 1845 in Llanycrwys. Davies & Williams farmed "Wernlwyd" from 1841 to 1901 census.
John's parents were Daniel Williams 1806 and Anne ? 1812.
Anne Davies parents were William Davies and Mary ?

Is anyone else researching this family ? Or could tell me how to research the farm's history.
Thanks so much - Gail

William & Anne Jones - Glangwydderig Farm, Llandovery.
John & Anne Williams - Achiethisaf.
Anne Davies, Mary Morgan - Wernlwyd.
Daniel Jones - Gellidewisaf.

Offline pinot

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Farm names in census
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 07 September 10 00:22 BST (UK) »
http://beta.peoplescollection.co.uk/Home
Hi Gail,