Author Topic: Young's of Strachan and Birse  (Read 7416 times)

Offline StuYoung

• I am sorry but my email address is no longer working
  • RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Young's of Strachan and Birse
« on: Tuesday 31 August 10 18:09 BST (UK) »
I am a relative beginner at this so far I have traced my tree back to the Strachan and Birse area of Scotland, places I am unfamiliar with.
I intend to visit them in Sept/Oct this year, if anybody can help with where I might find traces of my ancesters it would be much appreciated. I am indebted to the web site Birsefolk (www.birsefolk.id.au) who provided some information.

The first recorded Young I have is –

Alexander Young (B c1725 D c 1806) married a Janet Thompson (B c1725 D  c1806) both believed to be natives of Birse

Only known child to date of Alexander Young and Janet Thompson –

▪ Charles Young (b circa 1763) who married Margaret Middleton (B circa 1764) date of marriage 15/08/1790 at Birse
(August 15 1790; Contracted Charles Young and Margaret Middleton both in this parish both in this parish and after were married September 2nd – source Birsefolk parish record extracts.) The actual birthplace of Margaret is not recorded but believed to be Birse.

Known Children

1. James Young was born in 1793 in Birse he married Ann Jolly on the 20th September 1817, daughter of David Jolly (B circa 1755) and Isabel Findlay (B circa 1756). They had the following children :-

   James Young B1818
   Charles Young b1819 d 1890 married Margaret Sim 13/11/1835 (see below)
   David Young  b1821 twin
   Robert Young b 1821 twin
(December 30 1821 - James Young subtenant Birsebeg? And his wife Ann Jolly had twins (boys) baptised the oldest named David and the youngest named Robert. David Jolly in Kinmunity and James Crawford in Glenchatt witnesses – Birsefolk)
   Ann Young b 1824
   William Young b1831